Tuesday, November 1, 2011

In whom do you place your trust? In God...

"In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth" (Genesis 1:1)

Washington – The United States House of Representatives passed a resolution 396-9 “reaffirming 'In God We Trust' as the official motto of the United States” on Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2011.

Representative J. Randy Forbes, R-Va., sponsored the measure because, he said, “What's happened over the last several years is that we have had a number of confusing situations in which some who don't like the motto have tried to convince people not to put it up.”

Mr. Forbes made reference to an incident which took place last year in which President Barack Obama stated incorrectly that “E Pluribus Unum” is the motto of the United States during an appearance in Indonesia.

“Some public officials have stated incorrectly that there are different national mottoes,” said Mr. Forbes. “We heard the president make that mistake.”

Nevertheless, chief executives of the United States with as widely divergent political views as George Washington and Harry S. Truman, Theodore Roosevelt and Andrew Jackson have adhered to the notion that men are created equal, endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, as did Mssrs. Thomas Jefferson, planter, and Benjamin Franklin, printer - co-authors of the Declaration of Independence.

The statement that “In God We Trust” has deep national significance in ritual, myth and an indefinable fraternal ethos that predates the formation of the revolutionary republic known as The United States of America. More than this, The Legendary is sworn never to reveal unlawfully.

It is that serious.

Believe it.

I have spoken.

So mote it be.

The following is a list of the U.S. Representatives who voted against the resolution:

Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Rep. Gary Ackerman (D-NY), Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich), Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA), Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO), Rep. Mike Honda (D-CA), Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA), Rep. Bobby Scott (D-VA), and Rep. Pete Stark (D-CA). Voting present were Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN) and Rep. Melvin Watt (D-NC).

No comments:

Post a Comment